Members Login
User: Password: Forgot your password?
Home arrow Rules arrow 2nd Edition arrow Declaration and Battle Resolution Procedures

Declaration and Battle Resolution Procedures PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 21 November 2008


The attacker will send a pre-combat turn indicating any successful weapons development, the remainder of his purchases, and all combat moves. Combat moves must list the attacking units, specifying the territory of origin for each unit. Defending units should also be listed, but are not absolutely required. For example:

#1 - W Eur (10 INF, AA)
E Can 1 ARM on E Can SZ 1 TRN to UK SZ
Kar 2 FTR (land Karelia)
Total UK v. Germany --- 8 INF, 1 ARM, 2 FTR v. 10 INF, AA

The attacker will then go to the IAAPA Dice Server, follow the printed instructions, and carefully and correctly enter all header information and the exact number and types of attacking and defending units. Resolve the combat according to the Milton Bradley 2nd Edition and, where applicable, Association rules.

Using the Dice Server

? When you choose the Game Number, both your and your opponent's addresses are displayed. It is your responsibility to check to ensure that the correct game number is entered and to verify that the addresses are correct.

? If you choose the wrong Game Number the roll will be void.

? If you enter the wrong Round Number, simply continue the sequence with the next number. Regardless of the Round Number entered, the time stamped on the battle round by the IAAPA Dice Server is the order in which the rounds are considered to have been rolled.

? If you enter the wrong Turn Number, simply ignore it and correct it as soon as possible.

? If a naval battle has an attacking sub, the attacker MAY, at his discretion, roll for the sub first. If the sub hits, he MAY request that the defender declare the casualty before continuing with the battle.

? Combat losses will be determined by the club default OOL except in the following situations:

i) a naval battle involving a defending sub, ac loaded with aircraft, or loaded trn which can survive the particular round of battle
ii) a land battle involving a defending bmb which can survive the particular round of battle.

In these situations, the defender will have the right to declare his OOL and sub withdrawals before the next round of dice is rolled.

Default Orders of Loss (OOL)

A player may designate any order of loss that he desires for his casualties.

If a defender does not send in any special orders of loss prior to the attacker rolling the battle then the Association defaults will be used.

Default orders of loss are as follows:

Land Territories
? Attacking: INF, ARM, FTR, BMB
? Defending: INF, ARM, BMB, FTR
Sea Zones
? Attacking-- TRN, SUB, FTR, BMB, AC, BB
? Defending -- TRN, SUB, FTR, AC, BB

Note: In a no retreat situation involving only attacking air units, defending subs are lost before other defending units.

There are some exceptions to the club defaults.

? If a naval battle has a defending SUB, AC loaded with aircraft, or loaded TRNs and any of these units can survive the particular round of battle, the attacker MUST pause and ask the defender to identify the casualties prior to rolling the next round. If the defending SUB survives then the defender will indicate the sea zone to which it will withdraw

? If a land battle has a defending BMB, and it can survive the particular round of battle, the attacker MUST pause and ask the defender to identify casualties prior to rolling the next round.

If the attacker rolls both attacker AND defender in these cases without pausing and allowing the defender to declare his OOL, and if following the OOL correctly MAY have resulted in a DIFFERENT battle outcome for the dice ACTUALLY ROLLED, the attacking rolls shall stand, and the defender shall have the option to:

i) accept the defending rolls as is, applied to the units now shown,
ii) to accept the defending rolls, applying the actual rolls to corrected units, or,
iii) to adjust the defending units to suit the correct OOL and re-roll the affected defending rolls.

If either of the last two options is taken by the defender, ANY succeeding rolls in the battle must be completely re-rolled

Combat Resolution and Order of Battles

If a turn involves multiple battles, each battle may be resolved in whatever order the attacker wishes. However, once a battle begins it must be resolved completely before the next battle can begin. Once the next battle begins it is assumed that the previous battle has finished and any surviving attacking units are retreating. If the attacking units cannot retreat, then the battle will need to be finished and all subsequent battles rerolled.

Post Combat Orders

The attacker will then send a final e-mail indicating the results of combat, his non-combat moves, a map update (This is a list that contains all territories that said country has units in and/or possesses), and give a territory and IPC count.

? Please use units to distinguish between territory count and IPC count, i.e. UK 30/$32

In the event of a discrepancy between the non-combat moves and the map update, the non-combat moves take precedence.

Amendments and Special Orders

The attacker may modify his combat moves provided that he sends an updated pre-combat turn before rolling any dice. No changes will be allowed once any combat dice are rolled.

The attacker may modify his non-combat or unit placements at any time as long as the changes are sent out before his opponent sends in his pre-combat moves.

Players may send special instructions at any time provided that they are received prior to the applicable battle being rolled.

All such changes MUST be recorded and sent through the dice roller (not regular email) so that timing can be verified. Communications done through any other method may not be accepted as valid.

Last Updated ( Saturday, 07 March 2009 )